Every now and then an opportunity comes along that you want to try but you just aren't sure about it. This is what happened to me when I saw a post asking for a model for a body painting competition.
    Some of you may be wondering what the big deal is. Well this competition was to take place at the Philadelphia tattoo convention in front of hundreds of people. This was a live event! As in people could watch me be painted! Kind of scary right?
    Anyway, I decided that I was going to give this a shot. I mean what was the worse that could happen, right? I finally got to meet with my artist the night before. She is from NY so we only had one night to practice together. Let me tell you she is one of the nicest people I have ever met. So full of energy! Her husband was wonderful as well, helping keep her on task and giving encouragement.
    Needless to say she was nervous. I mean this was a huge deal for her! Right then and there I put on my brave face. I made sure to keep her confidence up which was easy because she is very talented. I would not let her know that I myself was a little anxious at the thought of what I was about to do.
    When the day of the event came we were both all smiles and jitters! We wanted to win but there were so many talented people there. As I looked around everyone looked wonderful in their artwork but we had something special. I could just feel it in my gut. I had no clue what the judges were looking for but I knew they would find it as soon as they saw me, a walking, breathing piece of true art
    We ended up coming in 2nd place and won the peoples choice award. It was wonderful and I felt accomplished for doing something that was out of the norm for me. I would say that this time it was totally worth it to step outside of the box.



Leave a Reply.